A site dedicated to the trek to Marylake Monastery in May and October

Marylake Walk 2015

Hello and welcome!

This year’s Marylake walk will be held on Saturday, May 16th, 2015. Normally, it would fall the weekend of Mother’s Day but due to another Saint’s celebration, it was pushed back one week.

I am unsure if I will be walking this year or not, but here are a few tips to help you get through the recovery phase, which normally takes 2-3 days for me. It may be more or less time, as it all depends on the individual. Remember that these are my own tips and not a doctor’s so use your own judgement!

Once you reach the shrine:

  • Sit down. Try not to sit for too long at the shrine, as standing back up on your feet is alot harder once you’re down. Of course you’ll be tired, so taking a few minutes on and off a chair is recommended.
  • Go downstairs if you feel sick/ are in pain. Normally, the shrine has a few volunteers in the basement to help those who have blisters or have to get their feet/ankles looked at. Bandages, wraps and other medical supplies are used as needed.
  • Change into a more comfortable pair of shoes. I’ll admit, the comfiest pair of shoes/slippers I use after my walk are the ugliest: Crocs. They’re wide, have holes for circulation and are light. I only use them for this purpose – I swear!

When you’re back home:

  • Soak your feet. I normally soak my feet in warm to hot water with either vinegar, epsom salts or a combination of both as soon as I come home. Vinegar is an effective way to relieve aches, pains and calluses. The smell of vinegar usually vanishes after a few minutes of use, but scented epsom salts also do the trick if you can’t stand the smell.
  • Prop your feet up. Take it easy. You’ve walked a long way and your feet, ankles, calves and thighs need some much-needed TLC. Read a book, watch some TV or have a nap! I don’t recommend working on the same day you walk, as you’ll probably be pretty tired and sore. If you can, take the next day off too for some much-needed recovery time.

All in all, do what your body is asking you to do. If you’re tired, relax! If you feel that there are alot of blisters or painful areas, don’t hesitate to see your doctor- it is better to be safe than sorry.

Happy travels!

Leave a comment